Taking place on the 28th July the top 8 teams will be divided into two groups where they will play in a BO1 round robin within their group. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

Winners (core 5 players) will receive: National Team Uniform, Flights to Kaohsiung (Taiwan), Accommodation, Transport, Meals. All paid for by the AESA.

CS: GO - Team 5 vs 5

CS:GO is arguably Australia’s most popular esports with over 300,000 active players per week and the iconic IEM Sydney event held annually at Qudos Bank Arena, Sydney in front of an 8,000 strong audience!

Don't miss out 11th Aug

The Chiefs Esports

The Chiefs are a premier Electronic Sports organisation in Australia, boasting top teams in various competitive video games.
The Chiefs were founded in August, 2014 by the members of the top League of Legends team in Australia Since then, we have endeavoured to achieve always excellence in esports and gaming entertainment, focusing on consistent strong performances and maintaining dominance over the Oceanic scene.

Kyran Crombie

Matthew O'Rourke

Mike Aliferis

Sam Jones

Tyler Reilly

The Chiefs Esports

A close-knit duo, Noisia and sK have been playing professional CS:GO together since 2015, where they progressed through several lower-division teams before making division 1 in 2016 with the formation of the Avant Gaming CS:GO team. The pair have attended several national LAN finals throughout their years of playing together, their trip to Malaysia to compete in ROG Masters Asia 2016 featuring as a career highlight.

Alec Gulabovski

RNG - Andrew Adams

Georgio Poumpoulidis

Jared O'Bree

Stefan Paunovic


Highly competitive, fast paced action-strategy game designed for those who crave a hard fought victory.

Don't miss out 12th Aug

Team Nibbies

Zhi Ching

Max Tranter

Jacky Mo

Joel Skewes

Marc Byrnes

The Chiefs Esports

Team Risen

Formally known as Laughing Coffin, Risen is a team, and organisation, with members all over the country. Risen has won numerous tournaments, including SumSoc private circut, Throwdown cup and Cybergamer Season 8. The team thrives off competition and is aspiring to become an OCS team.

Joshua Braines Mead

Bailey McDonald

Nathan Gorsch

Jared Ngu

Ricardo Marques

Support team OZ!

The National Team is the highest honour an athlete can attain to!

This year the national team will be representing Australia in CS:GO and League of Legends
against over 49 other nations in Kaohsiung City, Taiwan!


Single Elimination Bracket One Day Competition (ODC)

Held on the 21st July teams will be randomly placed into a best of one (BO1) Single Elimination Bracket. Only the top two teams left will advance to join the other 6 teams who were advanced to the group stage.

Teams that have been advanced to the group stage will be notified ahead of time and be posted for the public to see.


After the conclusion of the top 8 Group Stage, on the 28th July team 1 from group A will play Team 2 from group B, Team 2 from group A will play Team 1 from group B in a best of 3 format where the winner from each match will advance to the Grand Finals.

Grand finals

11 - 12th August at the Royal Exhibition Centre in Melbourne.

2017 Representatives

Last year Australia sent 5 representatives in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive to Busan, South Korea to compete in the 2017 IESF World Championship where they placed 5th in the world.

Tyler ‘tucks’ Reily
Peter ‘pecks’ Nguyen
Liam ‘malta’ Schembri
Oliver ‘Dickstacy’ Tiemey
Alistar ‘aliStair’ Johnston

Their journey began in Australia where they outperformed 25 other teams to secure their spot
at representing the nation on the global stage.
They were also apart of making history by competing in Australia’s first free to air broadcast
(SBS Videland) of an esports tournament.

Support Australian team now!

Early bird price available till 5th August

Getting Here

Animaga is located close to Melbourne CBD and is conveniently accessible by tram or walking

Animaga 2018

11-12 August, 2018

9 Nicholson St, Carlton VIC 3053